digitalCINEMAcafe http://digitalcinemacafe.com We discuss all facets of the business from acquisition through distribution. Sat, 10 Jun 2017 16:17:35 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.7.3 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/category/dcc/feed/ digitalCINEMAcafe is a weekly podcast that is designed to be an open discussion between industry professionals. Our goal is to create a learning experience for everyone from the aspiring film-makers to industry veterans. We discuss all facets of the business from acquisition through distribution. Our goal is to bring together creative individuals that have an ability to express what moves and inspires them. DCC is hosted by Chris Fenwick of SL\CE Editorial and Alex MacLean of Colorflow. Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean chris@digitalcinemacafe.com chris@digitalcinemacafe.com (Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean) © 2013 digitalCINEMAcafe All facets of digital cinema from acquisition through distribution. digitalCINEMAcafe http://digitalcinemacafe.com/wp-content/uploads/powerpress/DCC_Logo_300.png http://digitalcinemacafe.com Oakland, CA Weekly FCG150 – Water on the Floor (feat. Michael Cioni) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/06/10/1285/ http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/06/10/1285/#respond Sat, 10 Jun 2017 16:12:08 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1285 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/06/10/1285/feed/ 0 Every once in a while you run across a voice that resonates. I’m not talking about a great singer but […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:03:55 FCG149 – NAB 2017 Insights (feat. Tony Gallardo) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/05/04/fcg149-nab-2017-insights-feat-tony-gallardo/ Thu, 04 May 2017 16:27:09 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1282 Besides being an accomplished editor and creator Tony Gallardo has been working on The Grill in a support capacity for […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:01:38 FCG148 – Dripping in Dongles – State of the Mac (feat. Steve Miller) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/04/20/fcg148-dripping-in-dongles-state-of-the-mac-title-feat-steve-miller/ Thu, 20 Apr 2017 20:51:24 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1278 Steve Miller, not that one, is a long time friend and fellow editor. Although we kid each other all the […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:26:33 FCG147 – It’s Not Bad Stuff (feat. Brad Olsen) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/04/13/fcg147-its-not-bad-stuff-feat-brad-olsen/ Fri, 14 Apr 2017 00:15:33 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1275 For over a year, Brad Olsen has been pouring his time into the mother of all personal projects, a documentary […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:03:22 FCG146 – Pre-Smart (feat. T. Payton) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/03/31/fcg146-pre-smart-feat-t-payton/ Fri, 31 Mar 2017 07:01:01 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1271 Have you ever wanted to work smarter and enjoy your job more? T. Payton, Albuquerque based Art Director and FCPX […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:06:10 FCG145 – NAB 2017 (feat. Lumaforge) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/03/24/fcg145-nab-2017-feat-lumaforge/ Fri, 24 Mar 2017 15:36:48 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1268 NAB 2017 is just around the corner and our sponsor, Lumaforge is heavily committed to bringing together the best and […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 57:00 FCG144 – Everything Looks Familiar (feat. Geoffrey Orthwein) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/03/17/fcg144-everything-looks-familiar-feat-geoffrey-orthwein/ Fri, 17 Mar 2017 18:03:17 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1264 3 years in the making… have you ever worked on ONE project that long? Bokeh is what Geoffrey Orthwein calls […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:00:51 FCG143 – Consolidate Media (feat. Chris Steele) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/03/02/fcg143-consolidate-media-feat-chris-steele/ Thu, 02 Mar 2017 16:41:26 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1261 If you’re new to video editing and FCPX is your first edit system to use you may not know what […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 50:46 FCG142 – Piper’s Picks TV (feat. Adam Feinsilver) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/02/24/fcg138-pipers-pick-tv-feat-adam-feinsilver/ Sat, 25 Feb 2017 07:04:05 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1257 Kids programming, although seen as a stepping stone for many in the entertainment industry is actually Adam Feinsilver and his […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:00:15 FCG141 – Hardware Add-Ons & Stuff (feat. Scott Simmons) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/02/17/fcg141-hardware-add-ons-stuff-feat-scott-simmons/ Fri, 17 Feb 2017 15:32:36 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1254 Spilled drinks, spilled ideas, and a lot of “old man chat”. Scott Simmons is one of the editors that I […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:12:21 FCG140 – Going Global with FCPX (feat. Ron Dawson) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/02/03/fcg140-going-global-with-fcpx-feat-ron-dawson/ Fri, 03 Feb 2017 19:39:53 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1251 Ron and his family are hitting the road, in a really big way. If you ever dreamed of traveling the […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:13:44 FCG139 – The Plug-In Ecosystem (feat. Ryan Welborn) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/01/27/1247/ Fri, 27 Jan 2017 17:08:12 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1247 Not everyone knows this business with the years of experience that Ryan Welborn does. He started young and actually cut […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:04:10 FCG138 – XML and Metadata and Bears, oh my! (feat. Philip Hodgetts) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/01/20/fcg138-xml-and-metadata-and-bears-oh-my-feat-philip-hodgetts/ Fri, 20 Jan 2017 22:50:14 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1245 Philip Hodgetts has consistently been ahead of the curve for about 15 years. When he first started talking about XML […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 58:08 FCG137 – This Guy Edits (feat. Sven Pape) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/01/11/fcg137-this-guy-edits-feat-sven-pape/ Wed, 11 Jan 2017 22:58:11 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1242 If you’re tired of the old “click here” video tutorials but want to further your craft, you should really look […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 59:59 FCG136 – Eye Nonsense (feat. Rory Cantwell) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2017/01/06/fcg136-eye-nonsense-feat-rory-cantwell/ Fri, 06 Jan 2017 18:53:04 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1239 The rule is “Always be Learning”. Rory Cantwell, in his multi decade career knows this all to well. Watching the […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:02:06 FCG135 – The Future of Apple – Thunderbolt 3 (feat. Alex Gollner) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2016/12/30/fcg135-the-future-of-apple-thunderbolt-3-feat-alex-gollner/ Fri, 30 Dec 2016 18:59:54 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1237 Like a look into the future, every chat with Alex4D is like peering into a technological crystal ball. In this […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:04:37 FCG134 – Documentary Workflow (feat. J. Patrick Southern) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2016/12/14/fcg134-documentary-workflow-feat-j-patrick-southern/ Wed, 14 Dec 2016 18:39:57 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1233 Perhaps no other project is more data intensive than a documentary. They are unique in the vast amount of material […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 59:08 FCG133 – Movie Trailers in FCPX (feat. Charlie Austin) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2016/12/03/fcg133-movie-trailers-in-fcpx-feat-charlie-austin/ Sat, 03 Dec 2016 20:39:59 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1230 Charlie has been at this business for about as long as I have and brings to any discussion about editorial […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 58:28 FCG132 – War on Keyframes and Self Lacing Shoes(feat. Tony Gallardo) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2016/11/22/fcg132-war-on-keyframes-and-self-lacing-shoesfeat-tony-gallardo/ Tue, 22 Nov 2016 19:14:07 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1227 In today’s episode we learn how archaic typewriters were and talk about Tony’s recent military assault, “The War on Keyframes”. […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:04:53 FCG131 – FCPX – The Tiny Details (feat. Joseph Linaschke) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2016/11/17/fcg131-fcpx-the-tiny-details-feat-joseph-linaschke/ Thu, 17 Nov 2016 16:57:34 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1225 Talking with Joseph is always a pleasure, Although not a full time editor Joseph’s insight in to Final Cut Pro […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 59:39 FCG130 – Trust your Instincts (feat. Thomas Grove Carter) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2016/11/10/fcg130-trust-your-instincts-feat-thomas-grove-carter/ Thu, 10 Nov 2016 23:40:16 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1222 Thomas Grove Carter works at Trim Editing in London. He cuts high end commercials, as well as music videos. Recently […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:02:38 FCG129 – FCPX 10.3 – Heat it Up! (feat. Sam Mestman) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2016/11/04/fcg129-fcpx-10-3-heat-it-up-feat-sam-mestman/ Sat, 05 Nov 2016 00:49:45 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1220 We’re BAAAAACK… After a long hiatus, we return with a brand new episode of FCPX Grill. Sam and I fire […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:09:44 FCG128 – Daily VLOGing with FCPX (feat. Max Chesnut) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/09/01/fcg128-daily-vloging-with-fcpx-feat-max-chesnut/ Wed, 02 Sep 2015 01:00:33 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1217 I’ll be honest… I HATE the word “VLOG”, HATE it… that being said, there are some VLOGGERS that fascinate me. […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:00:02 FCG127 – 90 Cooking Shows (feat. Matt Goddard) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/08/04/fcg127-90-cooking-shows-feat-matt-goddard/ Wed, 05 Aug 2015 01:00:25 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1214 Managing Events in FCPX is an important task. When I met Matt at the FCPX Creative Summit I had no […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:03:02 FCG126 – Assemble in your Browser (feat. ilyas Akhmedov) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/07/21/fcg126-assemble-in-your-browser-feat-ilyas-akhmedov/ Wed, 22 Jul 2015 01:00:47 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1211 Training a new user in FCPX can be a challenge. Certified Trainer Ilyas Akhmedov and I chat about some of […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:05:26 FCG125 – Find Your Success (feat. Geoffrey Orthwein) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/07/14/fcg125-find-your-success-feat-geoffrey-orthwein/ Wed, 15 Jul 2015 01:00:30 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1209 “Everything looks familiar but nothing makes sense”, that’s what a lot of people say about FCPX when they first take […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:01:09 FCG124 – Frame.io for FCPX (feat. Emery Wells) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/07/07/fcg124-frame-io-for-fcpx-feat-emery-wells/ Wed, 08 Jul 2015 01:00:52 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1206 Getting your work approved and bought off on can be cumbersome. Frame.io is an amazing way to share your work […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 58:46 FCG123 – FCPX Creative Summit (feat. Jeff Greenberg) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/07/01/fcg123-fcpx-creative-summit-feat-jeff-greenberg/ Thu, 02 Jul 2015 04:06:16 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1203 The FPCX Creative Summit in San Jose was amazing. On June 26 – 28 the FCPX epicenter of the universe […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean Tutorial – How to Use Snapchat http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/05/21/tutorial-how-to-use-snapchat/ Fri, 22 May 2015 05:50:25 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1195 FCG122 – Subtleties of User Interface (feat. Maciek Kaliski) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/05/17/fcg122-subtleties-of-user-interface-feat-maciek-kaliski/ Mon, 18 May 2015 02:15:40 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1193 I offered to answer some questions to brand new FCPX user Maciek Kaliski. We discuss various workflow tips and ideas. […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:09:09 Building a Remote Edit Suite http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/05/12/building-a-remote-edit-suite/ Tue, 12 May 2015 08:04:20 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1189 FCG121 – Out with the Toilets!! (feat. Dave Dugdale) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/05/10/fcg121-out-with-the-toilets-feat-dave-dugdale/ Mon, 11 May 2015 04:24:47 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1187 Just when I thought I MAY be able to get my buddy Dave to try FCPX it turns out he […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean FCG120 – Million Dollar Tesla Trip (feat. Steve Sasman) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/05/05/fcg120-million-dollar-tesla-trip-feat-steve-sasman/ Wed, 06 May 2015 06:05:32 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1184 20,000 in 4 months. In an ELECTRIC CAR!!! Steve Sasman may be a bit crazy but what is even MORE […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:11:52 DCC062 – Mastering The Process of Creation (feat. Peter Livolsi) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/28/dcc062-mastering-the-process-of-creation-feat-peter-livolsi/ Wed, 29 Apr 2015 04:18:51 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1150 From film school, to commercial director to subtle effects masterpiece, Peter Livolsi has an interesting story. Leonard in Slow Motion […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:04:20 FCG119 – Video Literacy & 3D Text (feat. Alex Gollner) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/26/fcg119-video-literacy-3d-text-feat-alex-gollner/ Mon, 27 Apr 2015 03:22:20 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1147 Trying to figure out Apple Marketing is tough. Alex Gollner and I try to decipher what happened at NAB 2015 […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:06:17 Audio Editing with Chris Fenwick and Dave Dugdale http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/26/audio-editing-with-chris-fenwick-and-dave-dugdale/ Mon, 27 Apr 2015 03:17:15 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1145 NAB 2015 – Joseph Nilo on FXFactory http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/26/nab-2015-joseph-nilo-on-fxfactory/ Mon, 27 Apr 2015 02:06:45 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1143 NAB 2015 – Philip Hodgetts on Lumberjack http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/26/nab-2015-fcpworks-presentation-suite/ Mon, 27 Apr 2015 01:34:06 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1133 FCG118 – NAB2015 & LumaSHARE (feat. Sam Mestman) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/22/fcg118-nab2015-lumashare-feat-sam-mestman/ Thu, 23 Apr 2015 06:51:12 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1127 Amazing performance and incredible price, that’s what Sam Mestman, (yea, he’s back, I know) says about the new LumaSHARE shared […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:05:26 DCC061 – NAB 2015 Wrap Up (feat. Chris & Alex) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/21/dcc061-nab-2015-wrap-up-feat-chris-alex/ Wed, 22 Apr 2015 01:13:29 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1125 NAB 2015 was huge and Alex and Chris offer up their unique brand of “news” (with a very lower case […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:05:49 FCG117 – NAB/10.2 Meltdown – Sort of… (feat. Todd Villegas) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/19/fcg117-nab10-2-meltdown-sort-of-feat-todd-villegas/ Sun, 19 Apr 2015 23:00:59 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1121 Hey MOM!!! I’m on a podcast! I don’t think that Daniel Ray Todd Villegas thought that after spending a week […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:18:41 DCC Midnight Meetup http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/12/dcc-midnight-meetup/ Sun, 12 Apr 2015 18:48:15 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1114 FCG116 – The Cisco Kid (feat. Ray Brown) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/04/05/fcg116-the-cisco-kid-feat-ray-brown/ Sun, 05 Apr 2015 23:00:37 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1108 Working solo or in a workgroup, it doesn’t matter but Ray Brown still has found FCPX to be an amazing […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:09:21 FCG115 – I Have a Confession (feat. Kenny Park) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/03/29/fcg115-i-have-a-confession-feat-kenny-park/ Sun, 29 Mar 2015 23:52:50 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1105 Confessing you are cutting in FCPX may be a career limiting move, but for Kenny Park it all turned out […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean FCG114 – Prepping for NAB2015 (feat. Sam Mestman) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/03/24/fcg114-prepping-for-nab2015-feat-sam-mestman/ Wed, 25 Mar 2015 03:00:08 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1103 Preparing for NAB 2015 I sat down and talked with my new boss, Sam Mestman of FCP Works. We go […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:10:51 DCC060 – NAB and Social Media (feat. Chris and Alex) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/03/24/dcc060-nab-and-social-media-feat-chris-and-alex/ Wed, 25 Mar 2015 00:43:51 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1097 NAB is a completely different event with the addition of Social Media. Chris and Alex talk about how to navigate […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 54:57 FCG113 – Timeline Based Color Grading (feat. Denver Riddle) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/03/13/fcg113-timeline-based-color-grading-feat-denver-riddle/ Fri, 13 Mar 2015 17:58:16 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1095 Timeline based color grading has been a dream of mine for years. Recently I stumbled across Color Finale, a new […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:05:02 FCG112 – Brand New to FCPX (feat. Erik Naso) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/02/27/fcg112-brand-new-to-fcpx-feat-erik-naso/ Fri, 27 Feb 2015 20:02:11 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1091 Brand new editor to FCPX, San Diego based Eric Naso is just getting started using Final Cut Pro X and […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:19:13 FCG111 – A New User (feat. Alex MacLean) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/02/18/fcg111-a-new-user-feat-alex-maclean/ Thu, 19 Feb 2015 02:24:15 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1088 If you’re not careful and you spend too much time hanging out with me you may actually want to take […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean 1:13:33 FCG110 – FCPX gets Big Boy Pants (feat. Alexander Snelling) http://digitalcinemacafe.com/2015/02/03/fcg110-fcpx-gets-big-boy-pants-feat-alexander-snelling/ Wed, 04 Feb 2015 02:14:20 +0000 http://digitalcinemacafe.com/?p=1085 FCPX in a shared environment is a real thing, a VERY real thing. If you don’t believe it then you […] Chris Fenwick & Alex MacLean